About augmented reality

I wish I could be absolutely certain it only brings positive aspects – but there are so many things about augmented reality that worry me. They say it’s hard to accept change; maybe it’s just that. But what if not?

I am worried that with augmented reality we lose the true nature of things. Visiting the Grand Canyon for the first time or looking up at the sky when you’re camping isn’t going to feel the way it feels – like we’re ridiculously, insignificantly small – but with all the info we’ll drown in what we perceive as knowledge and we’ll look up at what we see, forgetting how we see it.

I am worried that it will soon become an obligation to be augmented. Perhaps not a physical obligation, but a social obligation more like phones are. And that if you decide to slip out of this control system you’ll be seen as an outsider.

I am worried about the control system in question.

I am worried that eventually we’ll lose what appears to me like the magic of not knowing. The mystery of how many stars there are in the sky and the pleasure of trying to imagine a funnel cake that your friends are desperately describing.

The future will tell. In the meanwhile I’ll continue wondering and, if not, discovering.

Should we believe in cyberutopia? Check this out:

After AR, would the next logical step be virtual reality? Is it that far away from now?

6 thoughts on “About augmented reality

  1. Pete Laberge says:

    You are wise to consider these issues. And if you think carefully, you will find more objections. More problems. More issues. BUT: You will also find a lot of temptation to do it. The issue is: Do you feel more comfortable as a human, or a “Borg”. And that is a big question. Decide one way (human) and you can change your mind. Decide the other (go Borg) and you might be stuck that way forever. I will not even touch on possible religious, moral or other issues. Why? Too complicated. And these are belief based things and theories, nor scientific facts. Who would I be to foist my beliefs on you? Or you to foist yours on me? Beliefs are personal.

    • ionaunguran says:

      I do believe this is a judicious question. And we might be faced to it at some point in the future. Stay what we are, maybe take the risk of being stuck in evolution, or simply continue this process of getting better than what we were born with. I’ll just say this: human kind is beautiful in its imperfections, not in its despair to wipe them away. But like you said, beliefs are personal.

      • Pete Laberge says:

        Well. You have just spoken a mouthful of wisdom, here: “I’ll just say this: human kind is beautiful in its imperfections, not in its despair to wipe them away.” Can I take a while to think, and maybe get back to you? (I’m a slow thinker, and the comment is awesome!) Can I tweet this? Let me know how to give credit, because it is one HELLA quote! I like tweeting good quotes I find. @PeteLaberge

  2. ionaunguran says:

    Thank you! I am very glad you find it interesting. You are free to use it – and comment questions to meditate on any time.

  3. […] My student found a great article “The Case Against Augmented Reality”, and she addressed her own concerns in her blog post. […]

Leave a Reply

